USATF Youth Athlete of the Year

The Youth Athlete of the Year award was established in 2001 to recognize the outstanding performance by an athlete under the age of 19 during the previous twelve months.

2010 - Trevor Barron

Five American junior records in one year helped to make the 18 year-old the new face of race walking in the United States. Barron's re-writing of the record books began on February 7 in Surprise, Ariz., when he won the men's 20 km Open and USATF 20 km Western Regional Race Walk Championship in 1:31:51. Barron then set a U.S. Junior men's 10 km road record on April 11 when he crossed the finish line first in 43:05 at the 2010 IAAF World Race Walk Cup Trials in Ronkonkoma, N.Y. On June 13, Barron walked a U.S. Junior Record with his winning

Race Walking

Captain Ron Zinn Memorial Award

Given to the outstanding U.S. race walker to commemorate the achievements of Capt. Ron Zinn, who lost his life in combat during the Vietnam War. A race walker, he was a member of the U.S. Olympic Team in the 1964 Summer Games at Tokyo and his sixth place finish in the 20 km event was considered outstanding for American walkers at that time.

2016 John Nunn & Maria Michta-Coffey 2015 John Nunn & Maria Michta-Coffey 2014 John Nunn & Maria Michta-Coffey 2013 Patrick Stroupe & Maria Michta Trevor Barron & Maria Michta 2012 2011 Trevor Barron & Maria Michta 2010 Trevor Barron & Maria Michta 2009 Tim Seaman & Teresa Vaill 2008 Philip Dunn & Joanne Dow 2007 Teresa Vaill, Kevin Eastler 2006 Joanne Dow, Kevin Eastler 2005 Teresa Vaill, Tim Seaman (20 km), Philip Dunn (50 km) 2004 Teresa Vaill, Tim Seaman (20 km), Curt Clausen (50 km) 2003 Joanne Dow, Kevin Eastler (20 km), Philip Dunn (50 km) 2002 Joanne Dow, Tim Seaman (20 km), Philip Dunn (50 km) 2001 Michelle Rohl, Curt Clausen 2000 Michelle Rohl, Tim Seaman (20 km), Curt Clausen (50 km) 1999 Michelle Rohl, Curt Clausen Joanne Dow, Curt Clausen 1998

Henry Laskau Award

The Henry Laskau Award is presented to the year's outstanding U.S. junior male and female race walkers. The award commemorates the achievements of Olympian Henry Laskau as an athlete and a person. It was first presented in 2000. Henry Laskau, now a member of the USA Track & Field Hall of Fame, was the first of the modern day race walkers who electrified the crowds at Madison Square Garden. After losing his family to the concentration camps in World War II, Laskua found his way to America. Switching from distance running to race walking, Laskua became a 3 time Olympian. It was during the height of his career in 1951 when he brought the Garden's crowd to its feet. Laskau's record walk of 6:19.2 for the mile that evening became a world record which stood for 12 years. Henry competed in the 1948, 1952 and 1956 Olympic Games.

2016	Anali Cisneros & Cameron Haught
2015	Anali Cisneros & Anthony Peters
2014	Katharine Newhoff & Anthony Peters

2013	Molly Josephs & Nathaniel Roberts
2012	Maite Moscoso & Tyler Sorensen
2011	Erika Shaver & Tyler Sorensen
2010	Nicolette Sorensen & Trevor Barron
2009	Allison Chin & Trevor Barron
2008	Miranda Melville & Trevor Barron
2007	Lauren Forgues & Ricardo and Roberto Vergara
2006	Katy Hayes & Mike Kazmierczak
2005	Maria Michta & Zachary Pollinger
2004	Maria Michta & Zachary Pollinger
2002	Robyn Stevens
2001	Robyn Stevens